Looking for
BRITDOC?

You've found us!
But now we've got a new name.

Our major supporters
Bertha Foundation

"We are proud to be partnering on such fantastic initiatives." Rebecca Lichtenfeld, Bertha Philanthropies

Ford Foundation

"Experts in collaboration, innovation and rapid prototyping." Cara Mertes, Ford Foundation

BBC

"BRITDOC are at the forefront of international documentary development. From Ping Pong to Virunga they have pioneered new ways of engaging with audiences" Patrick Holland, BBC

Hello & Welcome

We are a non-profit founded in 2005 committed to enabling great documentary films and connecting them to audiences globally.

Based in London and New York we work with filmmakers and partners all over the world.

Our Mission

We bring people together to unleash the transformational power of documentary film. We stand in solidarity with filmmakers and work to unite them with new friends and allies, building new models globally.

We aim to innovate, share and innovate again.

"For many years Doc Society has spotted and supported the most urgent projects - nurturing them with love, ensuring they make a difference. It is the forum for our most important conversations in nonfiction cinema."
Joshua Oppenheimer,
Director, Act of Killing

Our Driving Principle

Great documentaries enrich the lives of individuals. They have a unique ability to engage and connect people, transform communities and improve societies.

That's why we are dedicated to the Impact of Art, and the Art of Impact.

Find out more, download our latest book

What we do

Our five strategic areas

29,000,000
$ Raised at 34 Good Pitch events
4,958,934
£ Granted to films since 2005
36,557
Users of the Impact Field Guide
1,538
Teachers using Doc Academy
254
Films granted
85
Editions of Something Real
25
Doc Impact Award winners
11
Years of operation
5
Oscar nominations (and 1 win)


Join the
Doc Society!

Receive our amazing monthly newsletter*

* including legendary playlist

"I love your newsletters they're packed with personality and wit."
Anna Godas, Dogwoof
Don't believe Anna?
Preview the latest.

Our Offices

LONDON

Doc Society,
50 Frith St,
London, W1D 4SQ

NEW YORK

Doc Society,
20 Jay Street, Suite 1008,
Brooklyn, NY 11201

Contact Us

These are the most common enquiries, click to get straight to the right person

Who
Are We?

"For me, BRITDOC is synonymous with passion, commitment, energy, humour, vision, rigour and vodka-based cocktails."
Tabitha Jackson, Sundance Institute

Doc Society Team in London

  • Ayan Yusuf
    Production Manager
    ayan@docsociety.org

  • Beadie Finzi
    Foundation Director
    beadie@docsociety.org

  • Hazel Falck
    Doc Academy Coordinator
    hazel@docsociety.org

  • Isabel Shapiro
    Good Pitch Producer
    isabel@docsociety.org

  • Jessica Edwards
    Director of Impact & Partnerships
    jessica@docsociety.org

  • Jess Search
    Chief Executive
    jess@docsociety.org

  • Jo Harding
    Doc Academy Manager
    jo@docsociety.org

  • Karen Fairholm
    Financial Controller
    karen@docsociety.org

  • Lynn Nwokorie
    Film Officer
    lynn@docsociety.org

  • Nicole van Schaik
    Deputy Director
    nicole@docsociety.org

  • Oliver Rivers
    Managing Director
    oliver@docsociety.org

  • Sandra Whipham
    Foundation Director
    sandra@docsociety.org


Doc Society consultants and freelancers

  • Aida Mbowa
    Outreach Director
    aida@docsociety.org

  • James Franklin
    Creative Director
    james@docsociety.org

  • Katie Speight
    Editorial Consultant
    katie@docsociety.org

  • Mike Lindsay
    Artistic Director for Live Events
    mike@swooshed.co.uk

  • Stu Tily
    Technical Director
    stu@docsociety.org


Doc Society Team in New York

  • Jaad Asante
    Project Coordinator
    jaad@docsociety.org

  • Marjon Javadi
    Film & Partnerships Executive
    marjon@docsociety.org

  • Maxyne Franklin
    Foundation Director
    maxyne@docsociety.org

  • Patricia Finneran
    Good Pitch Local Producer

  • Shannon Thomas
    Office Manager
    shannon@docsociety.org


Doc Society consultants and freelancers

  • Alba Jaramillo
    Good Pitch Local Producer
    alba@docsociety.org

  • Bruni Burres
    Consultant

  • Dasha Lisitsina
    Podcast Producer
    dasha@docsociety.org

  • Sandi DuBowski
    Outreach Director


Doc Society Foundation Board

  • Anna Bateson
    Non-executive Board Member

  • John Bates
    Chair of the Board

  • Mark Cridge
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Rob Berkeley
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Tony Tabatznik
    Non-executive Board Member


Doc Society Charitable Trustees

  • Angela Seay
    Chair of the Board

  • Natalie Samarasinghe
    Trustee

  • Stephan Chambers
    Trustee

  • William Sieghart
    Trustee


Doc Society Board

  • Alex Grashow
    Chair of Inc. Board

  • Anurima Bhargava
    Board Member

  • Twiggy Pucci Garcon
    Board Member

  • Vince Warren
    Board Member


Our
Values

Independent

We are free to choose who we work with and how we do it. This independence means we always uphold creative, journalistic and personal integrity.

Supportive

We don’t interfere with the creative process, we support it. We are the friend of the filmmaker and the film always comes first.

Collaborative

We have seen the greatest impact through collaboration. As such, we share what we learn and create best practice with our partners.

Evolving

We are consciously and constantly evolving – because tomorrow needs new ideas. For us, problems are an opportunity for change.

Serious

We take documentaries seriously, but not ourselves.

Joyous

We love what we do and we want to work with people who feel the same way.


Our Supporters

We can only do what we do because of organisations and individuals who fund our work

Thank you everyone.

Major Partners:

Bertha Foundation Ford Foundation BBC

Founding Partner:

Channel 4

Supporters: