Looking for BRITDOC?

You've found us! But now we've got a new name.

Our major supporters
Bertha Foundation

"We are proud to be partnering on such fantastic initiatives." Rebecca Lichtenfeld, Bertha Philanthropies

Ford Foundation

"Experts in collaboration, innovation and rapid prototyping." Cara Mertes, Ford Foundation

BBC

"BRITDOC are at the forefront of international documentary development. From Ping Pong to Virunga they have pioneered new ways of engaging with audiences" Patrick Holland, BBC

Hello & Welcome

We are a non-profit founded in 2005 committed to enabling great documentary films and connecting them to audiences globally.

Based in London and New York we work with filmmakers and partners all over the world.

Our Mission

We bring people together to unleash the transformational power of documentary film. We stand in solidarity with filmmakers and work to unite them with new friends and allies, building new models globally.

We aim to innovate, share and innovate again.

"For many years Doc Society has spotted and supported the most urgent projects - nurturing them with love, ensuring they make a difference. It is the forum for our most important conversations in nonfiction cinema."
Joshua Oppenheimer,
Director, Act of Killing

Our Driving Principle

Great documentaries enrich the lives of individuals. They have a unique ability to engage and connect people, transform communities and improve societies.

That's why we are dedicated to the Impact of Art, and the Art of Impact.

Find out more, download our latest book

What we do

Our five strategic areas

32,987,845
$ Raised at 44 Good Pitch events
9,997,600
$ Granted to filmmakers globally
64,013
Users of the Impact Field Guide
8,017
People working with Safe & Secure
4,243
Teachers using Doc Academy
347
Films granted
30
Doc Impact Hi5 case studies published
14
Years of operation
10
Oscar nominations (and 2 winners)


Join the
Doc Society!

Receive our amazing monthly newsletter*

* including legendary playlist

"I love your newsletters they're packed with personality and wit."
Anna Godas, Dogwoof
Don't believe Anna?
Preview the latest.

Our Offices

LONDON

Doc Society,
50 Frith St,
London, W1D 4SQ

NEW YORK

Doc Society,
20 Jay Street, Suite 1008,
Brooklyn, NY 11201

Contact Us

These are the most common enquiries, click to get straight to the right person

Who
Are We?

"For me, BRITDOC is synonymous with passion, commitment, energy, humour, vision, rigour and vodka-based cocktails."
Tabitha Jackson, Sundance Institute

Doc Society Team in London

  • Aisha Younis
    Production Co-ordinator
    aisha@docsociety.org

  • Beadie Finzi
    Foundation Director
    beadie@docsociety.org

  • Christine Howard
    Business Affairs Executive

  • ​Fiona Fletcher
    Events Producer

  • Hannah Bush Bailey
    BFI Doc Society Fund Production Manager
    hannah@docsociety.org

  • Isabel Shapiro
    Good Pitch Producer
    isabel@docsociety.org

  • Jessica Edwards
    Director of Impact & Partnerships
    jessica@docsociety.org

  • Jess Search
    Chief Executive
    jess@docsociety.org

  • Karen Fairholm
    Financial Controller (maternity leave)
    karen@docsociety.org

  • Laura Husti-Radulet
    Grants Manager

  • Lisa Marie Russo
    BFI Doc Society Fund Executive
    lisamarie@docsociety.org

  • Malinda Wink
    Global Director of Good Pitch

  • Nicole van Schaik
    Director of Development
    nicole@docsociety.org

  • Oliver Rivers
    Managing Director
    oliver@docsociety.org

  • Sandra Whipham
    Foundation Director
    sandra@docsociety.org


Doc Society Team in New York

  • Maxyne Franklin
    Foundation Director
    maxyne@docsociety.org

  • Patricia Finneran
    Director of Development and Partnerships

  • Shannon Thomas
    Program Operations Manager
    shannon@docsociety.org


Doc Society Freelancers & Consultants

  • James Franklin
    Creative Director
    james@docsociety.org

  • Jo Harding
    Doc Academy Consultant
    jo@docsociety.org

  • Katie Speight
    Editorial Consultant
    katie@docsociety.org

  • Lindsay Guetschow
    Doc Academy Consultant
    lindsay@docsociety.org

  • Lynn Nwokorie
    Editorial & Programming Consultant
    lynn@docsociety.org

  • Mike Lindsay
    Artistic Director for Live Events
    mike@swooshed.co.uk

  • Prash Naik
    Doc Society Legal Counsel

  • Sara Rafsky
    Safe + Secure Executive
    sara@docsociety.org

  • Stu Tily
    Technical Director
    stu@docsociety.org


Doc Society Foundation Board

  • Anna Bateson
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Mandy Chang
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Mark Cridge
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Paul van Zyl
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Rob Berkeley
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Ruby Chen
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Sameer Padania
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Tony Tabatznik
    Non-executive Board Member


Doc Society Charitable Trustees

  • Angela Seay
    Chair of the Board

  • Ed Vaizey
    Trustee

  • Natalie Samarasinghe
    Trustee

  • Stephan Chambers
    Trustee

  • William Sieghart
    Trustee


Doc Society Inc Board

  • Anurima Bhargava
    Chair of the Board

  • Heather Grady
    Board Member

  • Katharine Wilkinson
    Board Member

  • Twiggy Pucci Garcon
    Board Member

  • Vince Warren
    Board Member


Our
Values

Independent

We are free to choose who we work with and how we do it. This independence means we always uphold creative, journalistic and personal integrity.

Supportive

We don’t interfere with the creative process, we support it. We are the friend of the filmmaker and the film always comes first.

Collaborative

We have seen the greatest impact through collaboration. As such, we share what we learn and create best practice with our partners.

Evolving

We are consciously and constantly evolving – because tomorrow needs new ideas. For us, problems are an opportunity for change.

Serious

We take documentaries seriously, but not ourselves.

Joyous

We love what we do and we want to work with people who feel the same way.


Our Supporters

We can only do what we do because of organisations and individuals who fund our work

Thank you everyone.

Major Partners:

Bertha Foundation Ford Foundation BBC

Founding Partner:

Channel 4

Supporters: