Looking for BRITDOC?

You've found us! But now we've got a new name.

Our major supporters
Bertha Foundation

"We are proud to be partnering on such fantastic initiatives." Rebecca Lichtenfeld, Bertha Philanthropies

Ford Foundation

"Experts in collaboration, innovation and rapid prototyping." Cara Mertes, Ford Foundation

BBC

"BRITDOC are at the forefront of international documentary development. From Ping Pong to Virunga they have pioneered new ways of engaging with audiences" Patrick Holland, BBC

Hello & Welcome

We are a non-profit founded in 2005 committed to enabling great documentary films and connecting them to audiences globally.

Based in London and New York we work with filmmakers and partners all over the world.

Our Mission

We bring people together to unleash the transformational power of documentary film. We stand in solidarity with filmmakers and work to unite them with new friends and allies, building new models globally.

We aim to innovate, share and innovate again.

"For many years Doc Society has spotted and supported the most urgent projects - nurturing them with love, ensuring they make a difference. It is the forum for our most important conversations in nonfiction cinema."
Joshua Oppenheimer,
Director, Act of Killing

Our Driving Principle

Great documentaries enrich the lives of individuals. They have a unique ability to engage and connect people, transform communities and improve societies.

That's why we are dedicated to the Impact of Art, and the Art of Impact.

Find out more, download our latest book

What we do

Our five strategic areas

33,237,845
$ Raised at 51 Good Pitch events
11,365,981
$ Granted to filmmakers globally
69,528
Users of the Impact Field Guide
9,060
People working with Safe & Secure
5,007
Teachers using Doc Academy
386
Films granted
30
Doc Impact Hi5 case studies published
16
Years of operation
12
Oscar nominations (and 2 winners)


Join the
Doc Society!

Receive our amazing monthly newsletter*

* including legendary playlist

"I love your newsletters they're packed with personality and wit."
Anna Godas, Dogwoof
Don't believe Anna?
Preview the latest.

Our Offices

LONDON

Doc Society,
50 Frith St,
London, W1D 4SQ

NEW YORK

Doc Society,
20 Jay Street, Suite 1008,
Brooklyn, NY 11201

Contact Us

These are the most common enquiries, click to get straight to the right person

Who
Are We?

"For me, BRITDOC is synonymous with passion, commitment, energy, humour, vision, rigour and vodka-based cocktails."
Tabitha Jackson, Sundance Institute

Doc Society Team

  • Avesta Kadir (UK)
    BFI Doc Society Production Coordinator
    avesta@docsociety.org

  • Beadie Finzi (UK)
    Foundation Director
    beadie@docsociety.org

  • ​Fiona Fletcher (UK)
    BFI Doc Society Support Programme Manager -Mat. Leave
    fiona@docsociety.org

  • Hannah Bush Bailey (UK)
    Film and Production Executive
    hannah@docsociety.org

  • Hollie Fifer (AU)
    Director of Australian Programs
    hollie@docsociety.org

  • Jessica Edwards (UK)
    Director of Impact & Partnerships
    jessica@docsociety.org

  • Jess Search (UK)
    Chief Executive
    jess@docsociety.org

  • Karen Fairholm (NL)
    Financial Controller
    karen@docsociety.org

  • Kate Moore (UK)
    Events Producer and Contracts Manager
    kate@docsociety.org

  • Katie Mandy (UK)
    Accounts Assistant
    katiem@docsociety.org

  • Laura Husti-Radulet (UK)
    Grants Manager
    laura@docsociety.org

  • Malinda Wink (AU)
    Global Director of Good Pitch
    malinda@docsociety.org

  • Maxyne Franklin (USA)
    Foundation Director
    maxyne@docsociety.org

  • Megha Agrawal Sood (USA)
    Head of Climate Unit - Mat. Leave
    megha@docsociety.org

  • Nicole van Schaik (NL)
    Director of Development
    nicole@docsociety.org

  • Nikki Heyman (USA)
    Film Officer
    nikkih@docsociety.org

  • Nikki Richards (USA)
    Office Administrator
    nikki@docsociety.org

  • Oliver Rivers (UK)
    Managing Director
    oliver@docsociety.org

  • Sandra Whipham (UK)
    Foundation Director
    sandra@docsociety.org

  • Shanida Scotland (UK)
    Head of Film
    shanida@docsociety.org

  • Shannon Thomas (USA)
    Program Manager
    shannon@docsociety.org

  • Suzanne Alizart (UK)
    BFI Doc Society Film Fund Business Affairs Executive
    suzanne@docsociety.org

  • Vanessa Cuervo (Colombia)
    Director of Latin American Programmes
    vanessa@docsociety.org


Doc Society Associates

  • Bedatri D. Choudhury
    Digital Consultant
    bedatri@docsociety.org

  • James Franklin (PT)
    Creative Director
    james@docsociety.org

  • Katie Speight
    Editorial Consultant
    katie@docsociety.org

  • Lisa Marie Russo (UK)
    BFI Doc Society Fund Consultant Executive Producer
    lisamarie@docsociety.org

  • Mike Lindsay
    Artistic Director for Live Events
    mike@swooshed.co.uk

  • Patricia Finneran
    Good Pitch Local Consultant

  • Prash Naik
    Doc Society Legal Counsel

  • Sarah Nicholson
    Design Consultant
    sarah@involveddesign.com

  • Stu Tily (CZ)
    Technical Director
    stu@docsociety.org


Doc Society Foundation Board

  • Anna Bateson
    Chair of the Board

  • Mandy Chang
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Mark Cridge
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Paul van Zyl
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Ruby Chen
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Sameer Padania
    Non-executive Board Member

  • Tony Tabatznik
    Non-executive Board Member


Doc Society Charitable Trustees

  • Angela Seay
    Chair of the Board

  • Anu Henriques
    Trustee

  • Dilhani Wijeyesekera
    Trustee

  • Ed Vaizey
    Trustee

  • Fatima Ibrahim
    Trustee

  • Mathieu Ajan
    Trustee

  • Peter Noorlander
    Trustee

  • Rob Berkeley
    Trustee

  • Stephen Dunbar-Johnson
    Trustee


Doc Society Inc Board

  • Anurima Bhargava
    Chair of the Board

  • Heather Grady
    Board Member

  • Katharine Wilkinson
    Board Member

  • Twiggy Pucci Garcon
    Board Member

  • Vince Warren
    Board Member


Stichting Doc Society Board

  • Kat Craig
    Chair of the Board

  • Yvette J. Alberdingk Thijm
    Non-executive Board Member


Our
Values

Independent

We are free to choose who we work with and how we do it. This independence means we always uphold creative, journalistic and personal integrity.

Supportive

We don’t interfere with the creative process, we support it. We are the friend of the filmmaker and the film always comes first.

Collaborative

We have seen the greatest impact through collaboration. As such, we share what we learn and create best practice with our partners.

Evolving

We are consciously and constantly evolving – because tomorrow needs new ideas. For us, problems are an opportunity for change.

Serious

We take documentaries seriously, but not ourselves.

Joyous

We love what we do and we want to work with people who feel the same way.


Our Supporters

We can only do what we do because of organisations and individuals who fund our work

Thank you everyone.

Major Partners:

BBC British Film Institute Ford Foundation

Founding Partner:

Channel 4

Supporters: